Govt announce 98 smart cities list: 4 cities Jaipur, Udaipur, Kota, Ajmer from Rajasthan

Govt announce 98 smart cities list including 4 cities Jaipur, Udaipur, Kota, Ajmer from Rajasthan,13 cities from Uttar Pradesh, 12 from Tamil Nadu, 10 from Maharashtra, 7 from Madhya Pradesh ,3 each from Bihar & Andhra Pradesh have been included in smart cities list, as formally announced by the Urban Development Ministry. This is good news but surprisingly second largest city of rajasthan,  Jodhpur is missing from list. While announcing the list, Naidu said that his government’s prime motive was to enhance urban life. “Smart cities will have the core infrastructure and will give a quality and decent life to citizens. It will enable a clean environment and provide smart solutions to problems,” he told the media here. The smart city project will cover 13 crore population across 98 cities – 35 per cent of urban population. Central Government has proposed financial support to the extent of Rupees 48,000 crores over 5 years. The implementation of the project at the City level will be done by a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV). State, UTs and urban local bodies will also play an important role.
The names in the list are: Dharvad, Navi Mumbai, Rajkot, Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Gandhinagar, Diu, Silvassa, Allahabad, Varanasi, Imphal, Kohima, Chandigarh, Jaipur, Amritsar, Jalandhar, Jhanshi, Kochi, Kavaratti, Namchi, Dharamsala, New Town Calcutta, Panaji, Port Blair, Dindigul, Thanjavur, NDMC, Satana, Aizwal, Bihar Sharif, Tumkur, Rourkela, Rampur, Bilaspur, Tuticorin, Tirupati, Muzaffarpur, Shimoga, Kakinada, Agartala, Bhagalpur, Tirunelveli, Udaipur, Mangalore, Erode city Municipal corporation, Vellore, Ujjain, Durgapur, Dehradun, Saharanpur, Ajmer, Amravati, Warangal, Selam city, Bhuvaneshwar, Aligarh, Moradabad, Bareilly,  Jalandhar, Gwalior, Guwahati, Nasik, Thane, Coimbatore, Kalyan, Faridabad, Indore, Nagpur, Kanpur, Lucknow, Kota, Raipur, Ranchi, Surat, Aurangabad, Hubli, Belgaum, Davangere, Shillong, Sagar, Haldia, Bidhannagar.