Heavy Rains Warning for southwest Rajasthan & Gujarat, NDRF deployed

The deep depression over southwest Rajasthan & adjoining Gujarat state moved north-northeastwards during the past 12 hours and lay centered over south Rajasthan about 180 km south-southwest of Bikaner (Rajasthan) at 0530 hours IST of today, the 29 July 2015. It would move slowly north-northeastwards and weaken into a depression during next 12 hours. Due to this depression heavy to very heavy rainfall at a few places and isolated extremely heavy falls over Gujarat region, Daman& Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Saurashtra, Kutch is predicted for today and tomorrow.  Moderate rainfall is also expected to occur at most places in the region.  Heavy to very heavy is also predicted at a few places on 31 July 2015 over the same region. Similarly, the Indian Meteorological Department predicted that rainfall would occur at most places with heavy to very heavy rainfall at a few places over Rajasthan during next 72 hours and at isolated places over West Madhya Pradesh during the next 24 hours.
The Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Haribhai Parathibhai Chaudhary discussed the flood situation of Gujarat with the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister, Shri Rajnath Singh. Shri Chaudhary asked for maximum Central assistance including rescue teams for flood affected areas of Gujarat. He assured of full Central assistance to the Chief Minister of Gujarat, Smt. Anandiben Patel and asked for greater coordination in Central and State rescue operations. In the wake of heavy rains leading to a flood like situation in parts of Gujarat and South Rajasthan and India Meteorological Department prediction of heavy to very heavy rains in next 48 hours in the region, National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) as a part of proactive measures has mobilized its 21 Search and Rescue teams to the flood affected area.  06 Search and Rescue teams of NDRF consisting of 228 trained responders along with 30 rubber boats have been deployed at Jhalawar (01 Team), Jaipur (01 Team), Udaipur (01 Team) and Jalore (03 Teams).