25 % voter turnout in Delhi till 11 AM

Around 25 per cent voting was registered till 11 am on Thursday for the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the national capital where BJP, Congress and newbie AAP are engaged in a three-cornered electoral battle. Moderate to brisk polling was on Thursday recorded in the first hours of polling for 91 Lok Sabha seats spread across 11 states 3 Union Territories, including the national capital. These include all constituencies in Kerala, Haryana and Delhi and six Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, four in Jharkhand, nine in Madhya Pradesh, ten each in Maharashtra, Odisha and Uttar Pradesh and one each in Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh and Lakshadweep. The Congress had won all seven seats in the 2009 Lok Sabha polls. The prominent contenders in the fray include Union Ministers Kapil Sibal and Krishna Tirath, Delhi BJP chief Harsh Vardhan, Congress General Secretary Ajay Maken, journalist-turned-politician Ashutosh, Sandeep Dikshit, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi, Rajmohan Gandhi, and BJP's Meenakshi Lekhi.
Union Minister Kapil Sibal, Delhi BJP Chief Harsh Vardhan, Congress General Secretary Ajay Maken, Delhi's Chief Electoral Officer Vijay Dev were also among the early voters. Sonia, accompanied by Maken and Delhi Congress Chief Arvinder Singh Lovely, came to the polling station at Nirman Bhavan in Central Delhi at around 9:30 AM and went straight inside the booth to vote as there was no queue. She is a voter in the New Delhi constituency from where Maken is contesting to retain the seat for the third consecutive term.