Total 2096 candidates in Rajasthan Election 2013

A total of 2096 candidates will be fighting the Dec 1 elections for 199 seats of the Rajasthan assembly, officials said Sunday. "A total of 618 candidates withdrew their nominations," the officer said. The last date for withdrawals was Saturday. As many as 32 candidates are in the fray in the Adarsh Nagar constituency in Jaipur, while only three are contesting in Sujangarh in Churu district, the lowest number of contestants in a constituency. The main contest is between the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which have fielded candidates in all constituencies.
The newly-formed National People's Party is fighting for the spoils for the first time in the state and has fielded 150 candidates, while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has limited its fight to just over 100 seats. Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot is confident of the Congress party returning to power with a thumping majority. However, the National People's Party (NPP), which is headed by Kirorilal Meena, hopes to be the king-maker. "We are confident of doing very well in polls this time," said Sunil Bhargava, state president of the NPP.