Tripura Assembly polls on 14th February 2013

Assembly elections in Tripura will be held on 14th Feb and in Meghalaya and Nagaland on 23rd Feb and their results will be out on 28th Feb, the Election Commission announced on Friday. The EC also announced bye-elections to nine assembly constituencies in Mizoram, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Punjab on 23rd February and in Assam, Bihar and Maharashtra on 24th February, but their results will be out together on 28th February. Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath said with the announcement of schedule for the two-phase poll in the north- eastern states and bypolls in various states, the Model Code of Conduct will be in operation with immediate effect and EC will keep a strict vigil on any violation of the Code.
He said electronic voting machines will be used in elections to the three north-eastern states as well as in bye- elections in the seven states. "The Commission will deploy general observers in adequate number to ensure smooth conduct of elections and appoint adequate number of expenditure observers and assistant expenditure observers to exclusively monitor election expenditure of contesting candidates," the CEC said on Friday. The notification for Tripura elections will be issued on 21st January and for Meghalaya and Nagaland on 30th January. All the three state assemblies have 60 seats each. While 10 are reserved for SCs and 20 for STs in Tripura, 55 assembly seats are reserved for STs in Meghalaya and 59 in Nagaland.