President Election on 19th July, 2012

Election for the next President will take place on 19th July and the new occupant of the Rashtrapati Bhavan will be known on 22nd July two days before the term of the incumbent Pratibha Patil ends. Announcing the schedule in New Delhi, Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath today said the notification for poll will be issued on 16th June. Last date of nomination will be June 30 and date of scrutiny 2nd July, he said, adding nominations can be withdrawn by 4th July. Polling will take place on 19th July and counting of votes will take place on 22nd July, Sampath told a crowded press conference.
The electoral college for the Presidential poll is 4896, constituting 776 Members of Parliament and 4120 Members of Legislative Assemblies, including those of Delhi and Puducherry. The total value of votes is 10,98,882 with that of MLAs being 5,49,474 and that of MPs being 5,49,408. Nominated members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and state Assemblies are not entitled to vote.