Rajasthan PCC Chandrabhan join 40th Anniversary of NSUI

Rajasthan PCC chief Chandrabhan slam BJP president Nitin Gadkari on Friday, comparing him to a local Block-level leader and asking him to mind his language at public forums. Speaking during the district convention of NSUI, the PCC chief advised Gadkari to use decent language at public platforms. While addressing the gathering of students and NSUI leaders at BM Birla Auditorium, he said that the Congress party had taken the initiative to fight against corruption in the country. Congress president Chandrabhan on Friday said the party would ask its ministers, parliamentarians and legislators to extend their ‘wholehearted’ support, including financial, to the NSUI candidates in their respective constituencies.
The party president advised the Congress student wing to field candidates with impeccable image and conduct in the coming students’ union elections in Rajasthan. The polls are due on August 20, the birth anniversary of late Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. “If the NSUI wins on his birth anniversary, it will be a real tribute to Rajiv Gandhi since he lowered the voting age to 18 years,” Chandrabhan said. In the last students’ union elections, the NSUI had a clean sweep at Jodhpur’s Jai Narayan Vyas University and won the president’s post at Ajmer’s Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University but performed shabbily at the Rajasthan University, Jaipur. The Congress president urged the state’s youth to actively participate in politics. The event was attended by NSUI national secretary Deepika Saraswat, who had to face hooting and whistling by the unruly supporters of some students’ leaders keen on seeking the organisation’s ticket in the coming elections. To exhibit their strength as leaders, the aspiring candidates made their supporters wear T-shirts with the leaders’ names. NSUI was conceived in 1971 by former Prime Minister of India Indira Gandhi and then was formally constituted on 9 April 1971. The organization traces its origin to the Indian independence movement spearheaded by Indian National Congress.