Delhi Metro for Mukundpur, Noida Botanical Garden soon

elhi Cabinet on Monday approved five new Metro corridors as part of Phase-III, which will extend the existing Metro network by another 108 km. The Phase-III proposal now needs a final nod from the Group of Ministers (GoM), following which funds from the Centre as well as state governments will be released. The corridors approved by the Cabinet, presided over by Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, include two new lines and extensions of three existing lines. The two new corridors run from Mukundpur to Yamuna Vihar and Janakpuri (West) to Noida Botanical Garden. The three other routes approved are extensions of existing routes — Badarpur-Central Secretariat will go up to Kashmere Gate, HUDA City Centre-Jahangirpuri to Badli and the Dwarka corridor to Najafgarh. The Mukundpur corridor will run through Rajouri Garden, Dhaula Kuan, Naraina, Anand Vihar and Yamuna Vihar, covering 35 stations in its 56-km length. The Janakpuri (West) corridor will run through Munirka, Kalkaji, Jamia, Kalindi Kunj and terminate at Botanical Garden Noida. It will have 22 stations on its 34-km run.