Rajasthan win Ranji Trophy 2010 title

Rajasthan Cricket Team scripted history by clinching first ever Ranji trophy on Saturday. Rajasthan Ranji team thrashed Baroda by 1st innings lead in the final match (Match Drawn). Pacer Deepak Chahar is the new finding for Rajasthan and Indian cricket as well. Chahar, who was playing maiden Ranji Trophy, claimed eight wicket in his first first class match.
Left-arm spinner Ashok Maneria, who had signed up with Rajasthan Royals for IPL IV earlier this week, celebrated the achievement with a cracking century as Rajasthan made 341 runs in their second innings and then reduced Baroda to 28 for four wickets as the umpire signaled the end of play on the decisive day. Earlier on day four, resuming at 361 for eight, overnight batsmen Sankalp Vohra (34 not out) and Murtuja Vahora (36) carried on Rajasthan`s fightback and tried hard to surpass Baroda`s first innings total of 394 with a 68-run ninth wicket stand but to no avail. Another Rajasthan Royals new recruit, Deepak Chahar (4/79) broke the dangerous-looking partnership, dismissing Vahora caught by Akash Chopra with Baroda still needing 38 runs to get past the visitors.