Bharatpur-Bhilwara Civic election on 13 December

The process for election of Chairperson, President and 180 ward members in 8 municipalities of Bharatpur district and the bypoll for the post of Chairperson in the Bhilwara Municipal Council began today with issuance of the election notification. According to Rajasthan State Election Commission Spokesman, nominations could be filed till December 3, scrutiny would be done on the next day, withdrawals could be made by December 6 and the polling would be held on December 13. A total of 27 contestants filed 38 nominations in 8 municipalities in Bharatpur district on the opening day of nominations today. Likewise, 3 contestants entered the fray for the post of Chairperson/President in these local bodies. As many as 186 polling booths were being set up in 180 wards in 10 civic bodies of Bharatpur district while 188 polling booths were being set up in 50 wards of the Bhilwara Municipal Council for electing Chairman through direct ballot.