Rajasthan's New Congress President Name this week

The Congress high command on Monday elevated five more members of the Rajasthan PCC as members of the AICC. These included MLAs Pratap Singh Khachariawas and Rajendra Singh Vidhuri. The other three are Vijendra Singh Inderpura, Banarasi Meghwal and Giriraj Garg. According party sources, the new president would now be declared after Diwali. The party hopefuls have, however, not relented in staking their claim for the top post. Even as two first time MPs from the state are being mentioned among those leading the race, party veterans believe the high command may ‘paradrop’ someone from outside Rajasthan this time.
The party leadership is believed to be keeping the option open considering the reported division among state leaders into different coteries. “An outsider as party president would be able to consolidate the organisation better under these circumstances,” a senior party leader said. For the time being all eyes are set on whether the new president would be a ‘follower’ of the sitting party chief Joshi or the chief minister Ashok Gehlot. If Joshi’s immediate predecessors are considered, the history has been against Gehlot. Former party presidents BD Kalla, Narayan Singh and Girija Vyas are hardly known to be followers of the chief minister.